Three Belgians in final table at EPT Snowfest

Poker News Mar 26, 2011, Last Updated: Mar 26, 2011 No comments
Kevin Vandersmissen

Kevin Vandersmissen

Belgian Kevin Vandersmissen takes a huge chip lead into the final table at the European Poker Tour (EPT) Snowfest orgaginzed by PokerStars in the Austrian Alps.

The €3,750 EPT Snowfest event is taking place in theAustrian town of Saalbach-Hinterglemm near Salzburg. Home to the Alpine Ski World Championships in 1991, Saalbach-Hinterglemm, the ski resort is one of Austria’s finest.

Day 4 began with 24 survivors from a starting line-up of 482 hungry horses. The eight players that remain include Romanian former World Cup of Poker (WCP) representative Cristian Dragomir who had to barge his way to the final table by eliminating former WCP team-mate Cristian Tardea to send his friend to the rail in tenth place. clashed with just ten players remaining. The last international big name left in the tournament was Team PokerStars Pro Alex Kravchenko who looked for a place at the bar after leaving in 15th place.

Three Belgians constitute the base of the finalists, with a commanding chip lead being held by Kevin Vandersmissen, his 4.5 million chips almost double the stack of his closest rival, Dragomir. Dane Morten Mortensen holds the short stack, having reached the final table after a solid run that saw him take out former EPT champion and Team PokerStars Pro Sebastian Ruthenberg, who in turn had sent home another former, and very recent EPT champion, Micchael Tureniec.

In related news, the organizers have announced a new EPT Tournament of Champions freeroll, which will take place as part of the season-ending activities at the Grand Final in Madrid. The tournament’s prizes include four different EPT packages for Season 8 tournaments, ranging in value from €50,000 to €25,000 to €15,000 to €10,000, on offer to the what will by then be 70 EPT champions that include the likes of Liv Boeree, Bertrand Grospellier, Toby Lewis, Jake Cody, Patrik Antonius, Ram Vaswani, Jason Mercier, Michael Martin, Michael McDonald, Galen Hall, Harrison Gimbel, Carter Phillips, Aaron Gustavson, Gavin Griffin and Kevin MacPhee.


Leave a Reply